City Council and Mayor

Corporate Seal of the City of Gallup, New MexicoAbout the City of Gallup Government

The City of Gallup is a municipal government incorporated under the laws of the State of New Mexico. The city charter follows the council-manager form and provides for five elected positions: the mayor, and four city councilors. The elected officials oversee the policies and practices of the city government. Gallup is the county seat of McKinley County.

Elected Terms of Office
The city is divided into four council districts, each of which elects a councilor for a term of four years. The terms of councilors are staggered so that two councilors are elected every two years for a four-year term. The mayor is elected by all registered voters within the city for a term of four years.

Please visit our Elections and Representatives page for more information.

Council Meetings
  • Second and fourth Tuesdays of each month
  • 6:00 pm Mountain Time
Agendas are available at the City Clerk's Office seventy-two (72) hours prior to each meeting. If you are interested in appearing on the agenda, please contact the Clerk's office no later than Tuesday prior to the next council meeting.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes